Home Away From Home #2 – Shangri-La, Tokyo (シャングリラ東京)

I’m not afraid to set your expectations high. I will begin by saying this is the BEST hotel I’ve stayed in so far, and I think majority of the world will agree with me, for Shangri-la Tokyo is ranked the No.1 Luxury Hotel in the World (TripAdvisor’s 2012 Travel’s Choice Award).

东京香格里拉,我至今的最爱。被 TripAdvisor 评为2012年度世界第一的豪华酒店,它当之无愧。(刚刚查了一下 TripAdvisor 的中文网址,我笑了。到了中国,它变成了“到到网” - http://www.daodao.com)

DSC_4030_2

Gorgeous Czech-made chandeliers seen everywhere.

DSC_4036_2

闪闪水晶灯,盏盏别致。

travelgraphy rose

Lustrous roses arranged by Danish florist Nicolai Bergmann
酒店内处处可见丹麦名花卉师Nicolai Bergmann的精致杰作

Other than the chandeliers, another thing I observed about the hotel decor was the stunning flower arrangements all over the hotel premise. Went online to read more about its interior design, and Wikepedia told me that “Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo is the first hotel in the world to feature (world’s most celebrated florist) Nicolai Bergmann’s works in all areas of the hotel.” Wow.

Should I have known it earlier, I would have taken a lot more pictures of the flowers! Digging through my pill of photos, managed to find one with Bergmann’s work, taken outside the hotel restaurant. Dazzlingly exquisite, isn’t it?

我是个爱花之人。除了绚丽的水晶灯,东京香格里拉酒店内处处是芬芳。

你可知道全球所有的香格里拉酒店都用同一款香薰?年前,当我住在雅加达的香格里拉时,差一点就买了瓶同样的香薰带回家呢!这样我的房间也就能变成“香格里拉”的一员了!当然,最终让我止步的原因是因为价钱太贵了!

DSC_3720_2

Here’s my favourite corner in the room – my heart melted at the sight of the Marunouchi sky-view.

从黎明破晓到夜幕降临,窗外的景色宛如一匹流动的画卷。

DSC_4050_2

Romantic sunrise by the window
早安,浪漫的日出。

Travelgraphy sunrise tokyo

Travelgraphy sunrise tokyo

Travelgraphy sunrise tokyo

Travelgraphy sunrise tokyo

DSC_3728_2

DSC_3675_2

Rise and shine! Time for breakfast! :D

起床吃早餐咯!

DSC_4413_2

The hotel lobby and all its restaurants are situated on the 16th floor, pleasing views are guaranteed, even at the breakfast area. Although the breakfast corner is rather small with limited food selection, I was beyond satisfied.

酒店内所有的餐厅都在16楼,景色自然也是好得没话说。早餐的选择不多,但道道美味,吃出的依然是日本人对食物的讲究(较早前关于东京美食的博文)。

DSC_4408_2

DSC_4419_2

DSC_4403_2

Never a muffin person, but out of curiosity (thanks to the limited food selection) I tried one of their muffins. Holy, I was hooked!

大爱这里的松饼蛋糕!超~好~吃~的~

DSC_4407_2

Another one of my daily breakfast items during the stay – Crab Chawanmushi. It tastes very different from the ones I had before – smoother, lighter, yet more fragrant.

又一个心头爱 - 蟹肉茶碗羹。本以为茶碗羹的味道“就是那样嘛”,我真的是大错特错了!原来,好吃的茶碗羹要更香、更爽滑、更清淡!


DSC_4461_2

Dinner time – let’s call for room service. I was amused by the number of spoons that came together…

Curry rice + Melon Pudding. Just as all other room services I’ve ever ordered – disappointing.

客房餐饮 - 咖喱饭加蜜瓜布丁。

经验告诉我,基本上,客房服务的食物=又贵又不好吃。呵呵。

DSC_3738_2

Another night of room serviced dinner. Crab Congee + Cranberry Mousse. Slightly better than the previous one.

蟹肉粥与酸果蔓慕斯。稍有进步,但仍然称不上好吃。东京的美食如山,可别像我这样虐待自己的胃哦,出门用餐吧!

DSC_3658_2

Yes, what you see is correct, a TV by the bathroom sink!

第一次看到设有电视的浴室!奢华啊。。。除此之外,当然少不了日本经典的高科技马桶!

DSC_3665_2

Gigantic shower head on the ceiling
头顶巨无霸花洒

Remember what I said earlier about my way of differentiating the “better” hotels from the “good” ones (see previous post)? This hotel is a sterling example of what it means to be “perfect in every detail” (excluding the room service meals haha). Panasonic ionity hair dryer + clothes steamer + fragrant bath salt + a very beautiful and oriental looking ladies pouch containing:

– L’Occitane makeup removal cloth
– L’Occitane lip balm
– L’Occitane Shea Butter Hand Cream (travel size)
– Shiseido facial cleansing set (travel size)
– A pair of leg-slimming stockings!

Did I tell you there were also traditional Japanese pajamas in the drawer? Oh boy, I was terribly pampered! :)

On the day of my departure, two amiable door girls walked me all the way to the train platform and bid me goodbye (with a 90 degrees bow) only after I was comfortably settled on my seat!

With truckloads of beautiful memories and a bright spirit, I left my urban “Shangri-La”.

还记得我之前提过的那套区分“好”与“更好”的酒店的方法吗(忘了就看这里)?

东京香格里拉酒店将“完美”体现得淋漓尽致(当然,客房餐饮除外。呵呵)。不单单是这里对细节的重视,更令我感到窝心的是,当我离开酒店前往东京站乘搭机场快铁时,酒店竟然有专人免费帮旅客提行李, 并一路陪同步行到车站内!我就是这样受宠若惊地被2位美丽友善的客服人员一路送上车。她们把我安顿好,下车,鞠躬,直到地铁开走。

我心中装着满满的感谢与美好回忆,离开了东京,离开了我的“香格里拉”。

3 thoughts

  1. Wow, seems like a very nice hotel. I am always kind of embarrassed to be serve by people, so normally I prefer to go for self service backpacker hostel. But I prefer to go to luxurious hotel with my family. kc

    Like

Any comments/questions? :)

